The Association of Maharashtra Obstetrics and Gynaecological societies (AMOGS) was founded by Late Dr R D Pandit in 1987. He was the president of AMOGS for from 1987-1997. Dr C B Purandare was the founder secretary of AMOGS then. As of now, we have about 41 member societies affiliated to AMOGs , with total membership of around 6000.

Late Dr R D Pandit was great visionary. AMOGS was founded to bring the members of Obstetrics and Gynaecological societies in Maharashtra under one umbrella. It aims to promote academic exchange, to give opportunity to present the scientific and clinical work by members in different meetings. It encourages research in field of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. It has offered organizational opportunities to the individual societies and inter connected different societies within Maharashtra socially.

Dr R D Pandit and the team of office bearers put in great efforts to shape AMOGS administration initially. Soon in 1987-88, a stearing committee was formed and constitution of AMOGs was written down. AMOGS office is located for administration purpose in Mumbai, however it is governed by office bearers from all over Maharashtra, AMOGS now holds elections for second Vice president and treasurer every two years. Second Vice President then is then upgraded to senior level and then to the post of President . For elections of second vice president, nominations are invited from the parent society every two years. Elections are conducted on the floor. President and secretary of each member society, trustees, and zonal coordinators, committee chairpersons, past president are executive members of AMOGS. AMOGS conducts executive meetings and an Annual meeting to formulate the strategies and to overview the activities of organization.

AMOGS at present has 41 societies under this umbrella. The society which is affiliated to FOGSI can become member of AMOGs by contributing yearly subscription. Membership number should be minimum 20.

Zone1: Mubai, Navi Vashi, Sindhudurg Zone2: Pune, Ahmednagar, Loni, Baramati, Satara, Zone3: Nasik, Dhule, Jalgoan, Malegoan,Chalisgoan Zone 4: Solapur, Kolhapur, Islampur, MirajSangali, Ichalkaranji, Karad, Pandharpur Zone 5: Aurangabad, Beed, Jalana, Latur, Parbhani, Nanded, Osmanabad, Udgir Zone 6: Nagpur, Akola, Amarawati, Bhandara, Chandrapur, Deoli- Sawangi, Gondia, Sevagram, Yevatmal

Infertility, Adolescent medicine, Medico legal, Medical disorders of pregnancy, Emergency obstetrics, and Website . AMOGS has 6 zonal co-coordinators and committee chairpersons, to work in different zones and specialties. The main purpose behind formation of these subcommittees is to conduct surveys, hold seminars, symposia, and refresher course for post-graduates and undergraduates and continuity of Medical education programs, carrying out health check ups, cancer detection camps, anemia detection camps etc.

The first ever annual conference of AMOGS was held in Pune in 1987 and then ,in Nasik 1988 and third was inaugurated in Solapur in 1989. AMOGs conducts annual conference in different societies to exchange academics every year in Month of Januray -February. Care is taken not to overlap the dates with FOGSI conference. The highlights of the conference are Dr R D Pandit CME, the key note address and Orations ( DR Sindhu R Pandit (Key Note Address), Dr Anjanivule, and Dr B N Purandare Oration).

Ex. Hon. Prof. of Obst & Gyn of S.S.G. Hospital & Medical College, Baroda & M.S. University Baroda. Emeritus. Prof. of Obst& Gyn. – N. Wadia Maternity Hospital & Ex. Hon. Prof. of Obst & Gyn at Seth G. S. Medical College, Bombay & Bombay University. Past President Bombay Obst & Gyn Soc. (MOGS), & Chairman of Board of Trustees . Past Hon. Gen. Secretary & Past President – FOGSI , Past President & Fellow of Asia & Oceania Fed. of Obst & Gyn (AOFOG). Past Exec. Board Member. Of International Fed. of Obst & Gyn (FIGO) Editor Emeritus – Journal Of Obst & Gyn of India & Editor – Journal Of Obst & Gyn Research (of AOFOG) Founder Fellow of ICOG of FOGSI Was conferred fellowship of :- Academy of Medical Sciences, India ; AOFOG , All Union Scientific Society of Obst & Gyn of USSR

This was instituted from year 2006 onwards in every AMOGS Annual Conference, by Prof Dr R D Pandit, Founder President of AMOGS, in memory of his wife Late Dr (Mrs.) Sindhu R Pandit. Late Dr. (Mrs.) Sindhu R Pandit nee (Miss Sindhu G Vader) passed her MD (Bombay University ) and D.G.O. (C.P.S) from Seth G. S. Medical College, Bombay. She worked as Hon. Asst. Obstetrician &Gynecologist at Cama&Albless Hospital, and Grant Medical College, Bombay in 1966. She worked as consultant Obstetrician &Gynecologist at the Diagnostic Centers of E.S.I.S., Bombay & Diagnostic Center of RashtriyaSeva Samiti, Bombay for several years.

In 1959, posted as Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the B. J. Medical College and Sassoon General Hospitals at Pune. In 1965-66, detailed for training under the Colombo Plan to Hospitals in Auckland, Dunedin and Wellington in New Zealand. Also posted on short exchanges at Sweden, (then) Yugoslavia, Singapore and Tokyo. In 1974, posted as Professor of Gynaecology at the Grant Medical College, Mumbai. Served as Dean for a short period. Appointed in 1978 as Director Professor of the Cama and Albess Hospitals Mumbai. Retired in 1981 from Mumbai as Director of Medical Education and Research. After retirement, joined the Garyounis University, Benghazi. Libya as Professor of Gynaecology for a tenure of four years. Appointed Emeritus Professor of Ob-Gy in B. J. Medical College.

Did his further studies in Edinburgh and London during which time he had a unique opportunity to work under Prof.Haultain, Sir, Victor Bonney, Sir David Wilkey and Sir John Fraser in General Surgery and Gynaecology. He was responsible for setting up the “Dr. N. A. Purandare Research Centre” in memory of his deceased father and organized research in varied problems in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Family Planning. He was the Dean of the NowrosjeeWadia Maternity Hospital and Post-Graduate Institute (Study & Research) in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Family Planning, Bombay. He was the Dean of the Medical Faculty of Bombay University and President of the College of Physicians and Surgeon of Bombay. He was the founder Fellow of Indian Academy of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. He was Honorary Adviser on Family Planning and Maternal & Child Health to Department of Health, Govt. of Maharashtra and Technical Adviser on Family Planning to the Union Government, Health ministry. He was a Member of Shantilal Shah Committee for Legalisation of Abortion and for his outstanding work in Family Planning. He was honoured in 1972 with ‘Padma Bhushan’ by the Government of India by the hands of the President of India, Shri .V.V.Giri